A Book With Everything I Wanted: A Review on WANT

IMG_8773

Title: WANT

Author: Cindy Pon

Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse

Release date: June 2017

Add to GoodreadsPurchase at Book Depository Purchase at Amazon


Wow. This book blew me away beyond the blurb and cover. Definitely worth the wait and hype. WANT follows Jason Zhou who infiltrates the elite you to destroy the source of their luxurious lives and the miserable lives of meis like Jason – Jin Corp and its creator Jin himself.

From beginning to end, the plot with refreshing twists to sci-fi dystopian tropes, the characters and writing hooked me in. So did the food mentioned every now and then. God, this book made me hungry.

Just when I thought I was tired of tattooed male characters, Jason Zhou made me feel all warm and fuzzy. He can be dangerous but he’s such a softie and loyal to his late mother and friends. Speaking of his friends, they’re squad goals. Despite the banter and arguments, they stay together and fight through obstacles, not to mention that they’re diverse Asians with different strengths and flaws. My only complaint: not enough of Lingyu, Iris, Victor and Arun. Hopefully they have more page time in the sequel.

Daiyu can be sweet, naïve and have all the traits of a you, but she’s full of surprises. She’s not a damsel in distress or just a love interest or pawn in Jason’s mission. Meanwhile her dad is a villain who really boils up my blood. He’s a man in a suit who knows his power and twists a tragedy to benefit himself. I can’t wait for his downfall.

Anyway, make WANT your number one read this year.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

One thought on “A Book With Everything I Wanted: A Review on WANT

Leave a Reply

