#PimpMyBio

tumblr_inline_n18bggCRrZ1raovf8

It’s July and that means Pitch Wars is coming up soon. This year I’m going to take a chance and enter [nervously sweating].

Let me introduce myself to potential mentors and fellow participants/writers.

  • My name is Natalia. You can call me Natty or Nat.
  • I grew up and live in a city called Sydney, a 3 hour flight away from Middle-Earth (New Zealand) – yeap, I’ve been there and visited Hobbiton too.
  • Age: I’m getting old…in my 20s
  • Graduated uni with a BA in English last year
  • Did a lot of internships including one at Pantera Press, an Australian publisher
  • Currently blogging about books and working in the children’s/YA department at a bookstore
  • YA and fantasy are my specialities. And I’m all for Own Voices and diverse representation.
  • The book that made me a serial reader and a serious writer at 17 is…Twilight. Yeah, I said it.
  • My nerdy tastes are pretty diverse. From Lord of the Rings to Sailor Moon to Disney to historical docos
  • My TBR is endless. It’s a monster that haunts me every minute of every day.
  • I’m a Ravenclaw. I was initially Sorted into Slytherin, but then I forgot my Pottermore password and had to do the Sorting again.

On the book I’m considering entering with, it started as my project for NaNoWrimo in 2015. It’s YA fantasy involving time loops, time travel, mythical monsters and a protagonist with a saviour complex. I drew inspiration from Sailor Moon, Indonesian mythology – to be specific, Balinese, Wayang kulit (Indonesian shadow puppets), Doctor Who and my own multicultural upbringing.

I’ve had a couple of CPs and a mentor who all helped me shape the story up and after countless revisions and tears, I’m happy with it. I’ve pitched my novel through Twitter pitch contests and got likes from agents, a full request and a partial one.

While I’m waiting and there’s Pitch Wars coming up, I thought “why not?”. Pitch Wars might be an unexpected valuable experience I could learn from and I’m also hoping to make friends.

Thank you for reading!

12 thoughts on “#PimpMyBio

  1. Rachelwrites007 says:

    Natalia, Sydney is a great place – I went there 5 yrs ago when I lived in Brisbane. Unfortunately though it rained the entire time I was in Sydney. I loooved Pancake Manor 😉 Your ms sounds good and wishing you all the best luck in PW xx

  2. Adelle Yeung says:

    Yay fellow Ravenclaw! I think Slytherin is also a close second of mine, but I’ve been getting Hufflepuff points lately?

    This is my first time entering Pitch Wars too. Best of luck!

  3. Amelia says:

    I love it. I’m in your boat too. I’ve got a couple of partials and a full out from a conference I attended with my YA Retold Fairy Tale. But I need mentors and friends on this journey. I’m hoping to find them in #Pitchwars. Are you doing the Instagram #pwsummersplash?

  4. Deborah. says:

    Nat! I can’t wait to find out more about your MS. You had me at time travel and Indonesian mythology. Best of luck with PW!

Leave a Reply

