June Wrap Up

June is over and we’re in the last half of the year. Are you freaking out? I am [laughing with tears face emoji]. Here’s a rundown on my June:

Monthly TBR

My Top reads

The One Who Ascended the Throne: Our Dark Duet (VE Schwab)

The Runner Up, the Heir: Always and Forever, Lara Jean (Jenny Han)

The Third is a Charming Mediator: Milk and Honey (Rupi Kaur)

The Noble Fourth Who Deserves the Praise and Loyalty from the People: The Crown’s Fate (Evelyn Skye)

The Bonus Fifth because I Read Several Good Books This Month: Four Sisters (Helen Rappaport) – if you’re a Romanov/Russian imperial family fan like me, you would like this

Mini Reviews

IMG_8664

Ourย Dark Duet is a satisfying end to the Monsters of Verity series. It’s an easy and quick read that hooks you in…and cry.

Rating: ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

image

The Barrier is an interesting disease-caused post-apocalyptic book with a twist – religion and mythology, in particular Hindu, plays a part in it. However, I wasn’t drawn to the characters and I’m tired of white saviours and poc characters having stereotypical roles – the token friend, the one who sacrifices themselves, the villains or terrorist suspect. Seeing Sri Lankan characters being subservient to the white characters made me uncomfortable. Asia and Africa being ground zero for disasters and pandemics is also annoyingly overused. Maybe it would’ve been better if the protagonist was poc. I have enough of white protagonists overcoming their prejudices and learning how racist theirย society orย company are.

Rating: ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Writing

I participated in some Twitter pitch contests in June and in one of them, my pitches were liked by agents. So I’m in the waiting stage, sweating, worrying and tearing up a little [dying laughter]. Buttttt I’ve been busying myself with a new WIP.

In case you missed it, I’ve opened up beta reading and sensitivity reading services. Click here if you need another pair of eyes for your manuscript.

July Anticipated Reads

I’m looking forward to reading WANT by Cindy Pon and The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee (both are already out)!

Til next time,

Natalia xoxo

Leave a Reply

