Happily Ever After: A Review on Always and Forever, Lara Jean

IMG_7800

Title: Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Release date: May 2017

Add to Goodreads Purchase at Book Depository Purchase at Amazon


Why is so hard to write a good review? I’m struggling to say anything beyond “OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK!” about  Always and Forever, Lara Jean. The conclusion to the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series follows up with Lara Jean Song Covey in the days leading up to her high school graduation. She faces problems and anxiety over her future, e.g. colleges, the changes in her relationships and there’s Peter, her boyfriend.

I was sucked back into Lara Jean’s world and that feeling of life wrecking your plans for the future and changes in relationships was so relatable. I’m in that place, even after university/college and getting a job in my dream field. It really doesn’t go away, to be honest.

The Song Covey family continues to bring warmth into my heart, though I didn’t like Ms Rothschild much. I found her detached and just…I didn’t care about her. And of course, I didn’t want the family to lose their connection to Korean culture, considering that the book has some glimpses of that culture and, to be honest, a majority of white characters. Glad Lara Jean and the family acknowledged that. I need more scenes with their Korean grandmother by the way. She’s too awesome to be a side character.

Lara Jean and Peter K. What can I say? I was worried about them breaking up. If you ask me what was one thing that made me stay reading the book, I would say them and the unknown future threatening to separate them. They HAVE to stay together and wow, did they put me on a roller coaster of feels. Even though it was relatable (Lara Jean being an introvert and close to her family like me), I did think that Lara Jean’s views on relationships are her mother and sister Margo’s views (which effected her relationship with Peter), but she eventually makes her own decisions.

Lara Jean baking is another thing that hooked me. I swear this book makes me hungry. I’m still sad that the cover doesn’t have cookies or cake or any food!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean finished with a nice and romantic ending that made me feel nostalgic and hopeful for the future.

Rating:

2 thoughts on “Happily Ever After: A Review on Always and Forever, Lara Jean

  1. delphinethebabbler says:

    Wonderfully written review! I’m OBSESSED with this series. The first was my favorite just because I found it hilarious how Lara Jean and Peter ended up together, along with all the drama going on with Genevieve. I think the third was the most heartwarming as Lara Jean and Peter’s relationship got increasingly serious as they make plans for college. Kitty was without a doubt my favorite character, she always has the perfect thing to say in just the right moment.
    Anyways, I look forward to more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

Leave a Reply

