A Flaming Plot: A Review on Flame in the Mist

IMG_7489

Title: Flame in the Mist

Author: Renée Ahdieh

Publisher: Putnam/Hachette Aus

Release date: 16 May 2017

Add to GoodreadsPurchase at Amazon Purchase at Book Depository


Was Flame in the Mist worth the wait? Yes. Did Renée Ahdieh sweep me off my feet again? Oh. My. God. Yes. The book is the setting stone to a new series and centres on Mariko who is almost killed on her way to her royal betrothed. She is determined to find her assassins and get some answers from them. She suspects the notorious Black Clan and infiltrates their ranks under disguise. But are they really the ones who targeted her?

The book has a slow burning plot and despite that and getting hooked midway, I enjoyed it (I definitely didn’t see that twist at the end coming). The main characters are well developed. Mariko is not another Mulan. She has her own strength, personality and flaws. Although I’m over the mysterious, brooding love interest, I love Okami but I don’t ship Mariko and him. I felt their romance was…flat. There’s definitely tension and banter, but from the scene where they first kiss and getting hot and heavy and onwards, they didn’t make sense as a couple.

I wish the minor but interesting characters like Yumi and Genmei had more scenes. As for the use of Japanese culture, it didn’t feel like just an “exotic” backdrop. Much respect and care were given into incorporating it into the story, but I also felt that it wasn’t anything new. I would love the culture to be explored further than the typical things we see/read – hopefully in the next book. Of course this is just my opinion and I’m not Japanese, so I might have missed something. The only thing that bothered me was Japanese words even honorifics being italicised.

I want to know what readers who are Japanese or members of the Japanese diaspora thought of the book. If you’re Japanese, please let me know your thoughts below 🙂

There’s so many things to say about this book, but I’m struggling to write them out [laughs], so here are some gifs to encompass my thoughts and feelings:

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 (definitely recommend)

3 thoughts on “A Flaming Plot: A Review on Flame in the Mist

  1. M says:

    I respect your review, though I don’t agree with some of it. I’m 1st-generation Japanese-American, bisexual, and non-binary, and I was so hurt and disappointed by this book. See review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2003852739?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1.

    I feel like I have to stay anonymous because the author is so well-liked and has such a huge following, and I worry about getting attacked. But I wish more ARCs had gone to Japanese-American and non-cis people because maybe some of the issues could’ve been fixed before the release. Now the book is out, and I feel like my voice is getting drowned out, and it’s hurtful and frustrating. 😦

    • Natalia says:

      I’m glad you commented. Your review is insightful – there are things you mentioned that I didn’t know about feudal Japan. And you do have the right to voice your opinion and have a much stronger authority there. Even though I liked the book, I hear you, your opinion is valid *hugs*

Leave a Reply

