A Review on Girl in Between

IMG_7318

Title: Girl in Between

Author: Anna Daniels

Release date: 26 April 2017

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Australian RRP: $29.99


 

Girl in Between reminds me of Bridget Jones’ Diary. It centres on Lucy who’s facing a low point in her life. She struggles career and relationship wise. In a way, she reminds me of myself in the career and living conditions department.

I like the humour in this book and clearly Daniels has a cool way with words. Despite all this, I couldn’t connect with the characters, couldn’t connect with Lucy beyond sharing something common with her in certain areas. I wasn’t sold on the romance mainly because the guy fell for her while he had a girlfriend, like wouldn’t that give you a hint about his character?

I also didn’t like how Japan was an “exotic” backdrop, a way to escape life and meditate – because apparently that’s all that country is, and the characters complain about their travels in Asia. Of course they do…

I did like premise but overall, not the book as much as I hoped.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

//cdn.thinglink.me/jse/embed.js

Leave a Reply

