Wrapping Up March

A month closes and a new one opens. Here’s a rundown on my March.

Monthly TBR

I finished all the books on my March TBR. YAY!

My Top 4 reads:

The One Who Ascended the Throne: The Hate U Give (Angie Thomas). This is a must read. I think it’s also my first 5 starred book this year.

The Runner Up, the Heir: A Conjuring of Light (VE Schwab): I’m still recovering from reading this one. It was also the last one left on the TBR.

The Third is a Charming Mediator: Strange the DreamerΒ (Laini Taylor): Fall in love with Taylor’s writing and Lazlo Strange.

The Noble Fourth Who Deserves the Praise and Loyalty from the People: Labyrinth Lost (Zoraida Cordova): OH. MY. GOD. This book is amazing!


Tracing my roots

Beauty is a Wound (Eka Kurniawan) is the first book with Indonesian and Indo (half-Indonesian and half-Dutch or partial) characters and by an Indonesian author I’ve read. In a similar vein as The House of the Spirits (Isabel Allende), Beauty centres on a family of importance but share terrible fates during the Dutch colonial rule, Japanese occupation and early years of independent Indonesia (including the power struggle and anti-communist massacre in 1965).

It’s a beautiful but confronting story that gives voice to the unspoken experiences faced by Indonesian women during those times. I learnt a lot from this book because I was clueless about Β the history of my family’s country of origin – I’m Indonesian Australian. I saw a bit of myself but mostly my relatives in the characters and there were phrases that I grew up hearing so I was like “OMG!”. However, I also felt distant. There were things that I didn’t understand. Reading Beauty made me want to reconnect with my heritage and wishing I could ask my grandmother about Indonesia’s history and her own experiences since she lived through all three time periods the book is set in.

The book has intense and triggering scenes, so if you want to read it, read with caution. I did enjoy it as it blended history and the supernatural that reflects the turbulent effects of the country’s past on its people.


Mini Reviews

Because I finished A Conjuring of Light last night and I was waiting for Strange the Dreamer in physical form (I read the eARC), I thought I would do mini reviews here.

A Conjuring of LightΒ 

Things I loved:

  • Kell, Lila, Rhy and Alucard
  • Holland and Rhy’s parents are fleshed out
  • More on Osaron
  • Magic, magic, magic

Things I didn’t love:

  • There aren’t enough pages, but I thought some scenes weren’t necessary and slowed down the plot
  • Someone dies *sad, tear-stained face*
  • Not enough Rhy and Alucard scenes

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

TW: self-harm

Strange the Dreamer

Things I loved:

  • A librarian protagonist
  • You don’t need to be a warrior to be a hero
  • Moths are your best friends and weapons
  • Steampunk-ish elements
  • Lost/cursed city narrative
  • Creepy evil kids
  • THE ENDING

Things I didn’t love:

  • THE ENDING

Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟


Film/TV

I watch Beauty and the Beast. I enjoyed it but it could’ve been better. Β I made a thread of my thoughts on Twitter.

Ghost in the Shell and the trailer of Netflix’s Death Note are out now. I’m going to keep this short because I’m drained by the major problem they have:Β 

The Justice League trailer also came out. Aquaman, Cyborg and The Flash are looking pretty badass.


Writing

I haven’t been writing a lot this month because I was feeling down by recent events in the book community and a certain racist book (for more details, read this analysis). On the plus side, an agent requested a partial! πŸ˜€


Other Bookish Things

This March saw the 10th anniversary of City of Bones. While the prequel series The Infernal Devices changed my life, City of BonesΒ still has a special place in my heart. It introduced me to Simon Lewis/Lovelace and Isabelle Lightwood.


new month anticipated reads

 

 

 

 

I’m excited about The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (I’ve heard that the rep is good) and Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han.

Both are coming out in April and are diverse books πŸ™‚


My new month resolutions

  • Read faster

Til next time,

Natalia xoxo

One thought on “Wrapping Up March

  1. MiRakelBooks says:

    I’m also really excited about The Upside of Unrequited, because I loved Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda. I have an eArc of the book, so I need to read it soon.

Leave a Reply

