A Mini-Review: King’s Cage

img_6879


Title: King’s Cage

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Published: February 2017

Publisher: Orion/Hachette/Harper Teen

Add to Goodreads – Purchase at Amazon Purchase at Book Depository


I think King’s Cage saved the Red Queen series after the previous book Glass Sword let me down. King’s Cage follows up on Mare Barrow living under imprisonment by Maven whose rule is wavering now that Queen Elara isn’t there by his side. There are open rebellions among the royals and Maven grows to distrust everyone but Mare. But she’s waiting for an opportunity to escape and if she can find her strength, kill him.

Despite a slow start, the book is more plot-driven and the story builds up to the point that you would be on the edge of your seat. Mare isn’t as irritating as she is in Glass Sword, I love the complexity that is Maven and Cameron being fleshed out more. The newbloods are still surrounded by mystery. The only downsides are the romance, diverse characters and multiple POVs. I didn’t feel the love between Mare and Cal. Cal’s a bore and a flat character. Sorry, he just didn’t make me care about him. Besides Cameron, the other poc characters are…not well developed and disposable.

I did love reading from Cameron and Evangeline’s POVs but it felt…disjointed and a little pointless, especially since Evangeline’s comes up towards the end. There was also confusion and panic with this book being the last. I didn’t know there was a fourth book. I’m glad that it isn’t over…because I was losing my mind when I finished King’s Cage.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

TW: violence, poc being killed off, abuse

Leave a Reply

