Bisexuality in YA Fiction

This post warms my heart 🙂

Written Word Worlds

Although I’ve read what feels like an abundance of YA novels featuring gay male protagonists, I’ve only read maybe three books featuring bisexual female protagonists. And I’ve read all three of them in the past three months. I’m pleased that books are finally being released with bisexual main characters, but it feels like it’s been a long time coming. Thankfully there’s been a push for diversity by avid readers and passionate writers, and I believe that’s influencing the bookish community in the best possible ways. It’s opened my eyes to see how much of what I was reading was featuring cishet protagonists, and it’s time to change that.

As someone who identifies as bisexual – which you can hear more about in this post – there’s nothing I want more than to see myself in more of what I read. But it’s not just about what I want. People who…

View original post 1,765 more words

Leave a Reply

