A Triple Treat Review: Gemina, The Sun Is Also A Star & The Sidekicks

Since, I’ve finished one more than one book this week, I’ve decided to combine my reviews on them in this post. I’m reviewing Gemina (Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff), The Sun Is Also A Star (Nicola Yoon) and The Sidekicks (Will Kostakis).

img_5345

Gemina

The much anticipated sequel to Illimunae lives up to the hype. Gemina follows Nik and Hanna, residents of space station Heimdall which is hijacked by a team bent on destroying evidence on behalf of an organisation committing something dangerous.

It’s up to Nik and Hanna as well as tech genius Ella to save their home, but the hijackers have also something in store for the approaching ship Hypatia last seen in Illuminae.

Things that I liked:

– Amazing format *heart eyes*

– The characters made me laugh and cry and scream in frustration. I didn’t need descriptions to build up their characterisation. They were well developed.

– Marie Lu’s illustrations

– The plot twist, the climax…they had me on the edge of my seat, well more like shoved me off a cliff

Things I didn’t like:

– I felt the plot twist entered way too late in the story. I think it should’ve been hinted at more before the reveal

– Not enough Kady and Ezra who are the protagonists of the first book

– It’s a very thick book that kept me all night, but I love the book

Gemina is definitely one of my top reads this year πŸ™‚

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

The Sun Is Also A Star

Given the current situation, diverse and #OwnVoices books are more important now than ever. The Sun Is Also A Star is the latest book I recommend.

The book centres on Natasha who’s fighting to avoid deportation and Daniel who has problems including his brother. When they meet, just one day with each other changes everything.

Things I liked:

– PoC main characters with complexity. Natasha and Daniel are Sensitive, witty, nearly mature but still learning, and smart – Natasha is a science geek and has ambitions in related fields.

– Both Natasha and Daniel are proud of their heritage and not shy to be one with their cultures. Resentment toward one’s culture (Daniel’s brother) isn’t glossed over either.

– A sweet YA contemporary with an instalove that I found very pleasing

– Highlights the seriousness of illegal immigration and its effects on families who don’t have privileges or connections that would lead them to find a way around deportation

– Strong focus on Natasha and Daniel’s parents. Rare in YA for me. It shows the differences between two generations but also similarities. Daniel’s family life resonates with me – the pressure of being a good and successful child, difficulty of pursuing your dream career because of your parents, and yes parents worrying over their westernised kid being disconnected Β to their culture.

Things I didn’t like:

– Open ending. I want to read more about Natasha and Daniel. Like what happens to them? *cries*

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

The Sidekicks

An Aussie book that I came to adore and it’s by Will Kostakis so I wasn’t disappointed. The Sidekicks centres on Ryan, Harley and Miles who come together because their best friend Isaac has died. They struggle to cope without him and because of their differences, they struggle with each other.

Things I liked:

– The characters are well-written with a perfect combination of wit, seriousness and, well, human. They’re also unique.

– LGBT representation and it doesn’t have a tragic ending

– I cried happy and sad tears

Things I didn’t like:

– While I like that the book is split into the three characters’ povs, I thought the second and third (Harley and Miles) shouldn’t be repeating scenes established in Ryan’s pov (from their perspective) at the start. I think it would’ve made more room for the relationship growth between the guys.

Overall, The Sidekicks is an enjoyable read and I would recommend.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

2 thoughts on “A Triple Treat Review: Gemina, The Sun Is Also A Star & The Sidekicks

  1. Rine says:

    Oh I loved Gemina and the Sun is Also a Star. The open ending felt very like Rainbow Rowell’s ending and I like that but I do want more of Nicola Yoon’s characters.

Leave a Reply

