A Truthy, Witchy Review on Truthwitch

image

Truthwitch had me hanging by a thread. It centres on Safi and Iseult on the run from dark forces including a Bloodwitch named Aeduan. Safi is a Truthwitch, a highly prized witch and an abomination to some. Iseult has a mysterious power and is haunted by a shadow. The two girls are caught in a crossfire of breaking treaties and warring leaders.

Despite a slow start, the plot does build up. It hooked me in and left me with more questions like: What is Iseult? The characters were well developed and had a distinct personality with slow burning character growth that I couldn’t stop reading. I even fell in love with Aeduan. It turns out that he’s a complex character capable of feelings and questioning his views and actions.

The book heavily focuses on friendship, female friendship (yay!) and it’s one of the main reasons to love Truthwitch. I don’t think I’ve come across such a strong female relationship and loyalty since the last Vampire Academy book. The friendship between Safi and Iseult is so strong that they can’t stop thinking of each other and it outshines Safi’s developing romance with Merik. There’s a lot of books where characters forget about their friends after they hook up with someone, so I’m happy.

Worldbuilding is a bit underdeveloped but I found the types of witches and the threads thing unique and interesting. I can’t wait for Windwitch and hope to see Safi and Iseult kick ass together 🙂

If you’re looking for something refreshing in the fantasy/witch department, then I recommend Truthwitch.

Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “A Truthy, Witchy Review on Truthwitch

Leave a Reply

