Cursed to be the odd one out? Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

image

Hype was to be expected, well, overhyped more like it. By the time Harry Potter and the Cursed Child came out, I was already wearied out by all the promotion and talk. Despite that, I read the script and enjoyed it. But not as much as the books.

Cursed Child is set 19-23 years after the last book Deathly Hallows and centres on Harry’s son Albus (I’m still gagging over the name). He endures the pressure of what’s expected of him because of his famous father, leading him to depression and isolation, especially after being sorted into Slytherin (there’s nothing wrong with that). He also forms a bond with Scorpius Malfoy, Draco’s son, who becomes his confidante and source of happiness.

Soon Harry is troubled by the past as a special Time-Turner surfaces and Amos Diggory begs him to change the past so that his deceased son Cedric’s fate is altered. Albus overhears this and to set things right, he and Scorpius plan to go back in time. But it leads to several rifts.

Spoilers ahead…

 

 

Cursed Child definitely brought the magic back at first. There’s a sense of nostalgia and the plot is solid but not exactly original since they keep going back to the events from the books, in particular Goblet of Fire. Much of the story has been a recycle of what has happened before. I didn’t see the plot twist are coming but the scenes after it…were predictable and anti-climatic (also raises the “that’s NOT canon” or “this is fanfic” argument). If I saw the play live, then I would’ve been more excited and spellbound?

I found it hard to connect with adult Harry, Hermione, Ron, Draco and Ginny. When I pictured them, I didn’t see them as replicas of their parents in terms of behaviour and voice, or poorly written. I didn’t care about them. And I found the relationship between Harry and Ginny unbelievable. Oh, and Rose and Scorpius? Really?

Changes were made to original characters like Snape. He’s turned into more of a hero. Guys, he might have made sacrifices, but that doesn’t change the fact that he’s still a horrible person. Before Albus and Scorpius went back in time, Hogwarts and the Wizarding World seems to be a dark place already. The Trolley Witch morphing into a monster to keep students from leaving the train – in fact no one is allowed to leave – stunned me. Please correct me if I’m wrong, but that rule isn’t mentioned in the books.

On the plot twist: Delphi, Voldemort and Bellatrix’s daughter, born some time before the Battle of Hogwarts. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS? How is it even possible? (I don’t even want to imagine Voldemort and Bellatrix hooking up) Voldemort doesn’t love, he doesn’t know what love is.

Delphi’s intention is to see her father and prevent him from facing baby Harry. Okay, fair enough but the climax wasn’t promising. It also gathered up the original characters to fight off Delphi. In my opinion, Albus and Scorpius should’ve done this on their own. I was just tired of Harry, Hermione, Draco, Ron and Ginny at this point.

The time travel isn’t as clear cut. Most of the time, I was confused because the characters didn’t do much to cause a major change and another Time-Turner allowed them to stay longer in the past during the climax…because it’s climax of course…despite the fact they were way back in the past, further than before and the Time-Turner has limits. Also Cedric turned evil because he was humiliated during the Triwizard Tournament, something that happened during his teens? It doesn’t sound like him. He has much stronger shield than that.

The main thing that kept me reading was Albus and Scorpius and their friendship. I can see why people ship them. I do too. I would’ve been fine with new main characters while the originals are in the background, and a new villain who isn’t fighting to bring the old villain (their relative) back like it’s Star Wars.

Even though I enjoyed reading Cursed Child, its flaws rubbed on me in the wrong way. Now time to reread the books and prepare for the Fantastic Beasts movie.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

