Review: Lady Midnight

image

After six books, a prequel trilogy and a few side stories, you would think you had enough of the Shadowhunter world created by Cassandra Clare. But no. Lady Midnight, the first of The Dark Artifices trilogy, is a great addition and start to a new world within the Shadowhunter universe. You don’t need to read all the previous books. You can start with Lady Midnight.

Lady Midnight centres on Emma Carstairs, hellbent on avenging her murdered parents and sets out to find the killer. But she and the Blackthorn family become entangled with Shadowhunter and faerie politics and a series of murders that are associated with necromancy.

As you expect from Clare, there are lots of unexpected twists and turns throughout the 600+ pages of beautiful writing, leaving you on the edge of your seat, hands shaking, pupils dilated, eyes wide.

There are cameos of some characters from previous books but they don’t overshadow Emma and the Blackthorns. Cristina, Diego (they don’t come across as typically disposable poc characters) and Mark are amazing new characters – I’ve fallen in love with Mark – why am I attracted to faeries? And yes, I ship Mark and Cristina, but there’s Diego in the way…I hope I warm up to him in the romance department.

There’s, of course, star-crossed love. Emma and Julian who are parabatai. Parabatai are not allowed to fall in love. I knew the reason why before the book revealed it. I knew it. It tore me apart. I’m still nursing myself from attack of the feels.

Lady Midnight is, in my opinion, an improvement from the previous books in terms of writing, characters and plot. The stakes are higher (the ending….WOW and creepy – I didn’t see it coming) and I found the characters are more relatable and mature.

While there are light moments, the story is mostly serious and more grounded on earth than the supernatural.

The ending will leave you staring and shivering. I can’t wait for the next book πŸ™‚ Now, excuse me. I’m going to look up some fanart of Mark Blackthorn.

Leave a Reply

