My Top 10 Favourite Books of 2012

It’s the last day of 2012! I hope you all had a great year of reading and looking forward to more books in 2013. For my last post of this year, I decided to write a list of my top 10 favourite books of 2012. And I would recommend them. Here it goes: 

1) Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

This is a beautiful-written ghost story that would keep you on the edge of your seat. It was quite different to the YA books I usually read. 

2) City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

This is an amazing and mindblowing sequel in The Mortal Instruments series. Full of adventure, romance, magic and action…and unpredictable twists that left me completely unhinged. It would keep you holed up in your room, wanting to find out what happens next.

3) Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Even though it’s not a 2012 book, I read Anna Karenina for the first time this year and I loved the complexity of the characters. So much depth. A story filled with so much emotion as well. 

4) Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick 

A perfect and amazing end to the Hush, Hush series. Romance and magic – what more could you want. 

5) Rapture by Lauren Kate

A beautiful and emotional ending to the Fallen series. This book made me cry. I didn’t want it to end. 

6) The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead 

A great and amazing sequel in the Bloodlines series, a spin-off to Vampire Academy. A kick-ass comeback from the vampires. Full of humour, romance and action. 

7) Heaven by Alexandra Adornetto

The Halo series was one of my favourite book sagas to end this year. It was a beautiful ending and I enjoyed every moment of it. 

8) The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht 

I had to read this beautiful piece for class and I wasn’t able to put it down to the point where my essay on it went over the word limit. It has a nice and balanced mixture of realism and fantasy. 

9) The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova 

This amazing take on Dracula is mindblowing and I must say creepy and dark. I really felt something was crawling along my skin. Also the description of the setting is quite dense that I felt like I was there, breathing in the scent of it.

10) The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette by Carolly Hickson 

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

This was a great read. I think it’s because of my fascination with Marie Antoinette and the French Revolution. Anyway, I love that this book showed an emotional and soft side of her. Not the treacherous and insensitive queen people pictured her. 

Leave a Reply

