A Character Sketch

She was writing and reading at the same time. There was something about her that was peaceful. Her attire was all over the place but it fitted her nicely. She had an Indian skirt with an overflowing blouse that made her look petite.

I approached her, wanting to introduce myself. “Hi, I’m Ethan. How’s your day?”

The girl didn’t look up at me. She looked busy. But I tried again. “Hi, I’m Ethan. Whatcha you doing?”

She finally looked up. Her eyes were piercing through me like she hated me.

“Hey Lily!” A male voice shouted behind me. He passed me without noticing me like I was a ghost.

I could his image clearer now. He had brown fringed hair and some hat that made him look really young. My first impression was that he was some slacker. Repulsion spiked my veins. What was this new feeling?  Jealousy? I shook my head.

The girl – Lily was still glaring at me and the boy noticed. “Is this guy troubling you?”

Lily’s voice was clipped. “Yes.”

What?

“Hey, dude. Don’t bother her, you hear me?” The boy fixed his eyes on me. His hands were trembling. He was angry.

Er, okay. “I didn’t do anything. I was just saying hi.” I said weakly. But I didn’t do anything wrong. But why did I feel guilty?

The boy’s jaw dropped slightly. Not believing my response. I thought I was going to get a hell of a lot more anger, but his next words were caressed in a gentle voice. “Just don’t talk to her, okay?” 

So he was a slacker but kind and defensive at the same time. 

2 thoughts on “A Character Sketch

Leave a Reply

